Tuesday, December 14, 2010

Bemidji State soccer doles out annual team awards

BEMIDJI, Minn. – The 2010 season saw the Bemidji State University soccer team accomplish many things as a whole, but head coach Jim Stone took time to recognize the individual accomplishments that comprised the record setting team.

Alysha Domiano (Sr., Def., Dayton, Minn.) was recognized with both the Beaver of the Year Award (Megan Wallner Award) and the as the team’s Defensive MVP (Kari Torgerson Award). Domiano led the BSU defense which set a school record only conceding 16 goals on the season, while also claiming eight shutouts. She ended a two-year scoring drought this year picking up two goals, including one game winner against MSU-Moorhead. Her efforts didn’t go unnoticed and at season’s end, Domiano was named to the 2010 NSIC All-Second Team, the 2010 Daktronics All-Central Region Second Team and to the 2010 NSCAA/Performance Subaru Women’s NCAA Division II All-Central Region Second Team. Her efforts off the field were also recognized as she was named to the ESPN the Magazine / College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) College Division Academic All-District Second Team. The Beaver of the year is not only the over-all MVP, but is somebody who embodies all of the qualities that represent the BSU soccer program.

After a record breaking career at Bemidji State and being named the 2010 NSIC Offensive Player of the Year, it was fitting that Ashlee Ellefsen (Sr., For., Hugo, Minn.) was named Offensive MVP. Ellefsen was the first player in BSU history to eclipse the century mark in points tallying 104 in her four years. She also owns the school records for career goals (40), career assists (24) and career game-winning goals (14). She played a major role in Bemidji State’s success this season. The senior led the conference in shots per game (4.23) and was second in assists with six. She was also tied for fifth in points (1.23) and seventh in goals (5). She ended her NSIC career tied for fifth with conference goals (23), tied for ninth in conference assists (13) and in seventh with points (59). Coach Stone has also decided to rename the award the Ashlee Ellefsen Award in honor of her contributions to the program.

The Rookie of the Year (Christina Egnell Award) went to both Jessie Voeller (Fr., Fwd., White Bear Lake, Minn.) and Samantha Lumberg (Fr., Mid./Def., Woodbury, Minn.). Voeller had a great first year for the Beavers, netting two goals and picking up two assists in the first five games of the season. After picking up her first collegiate point on Sept. 18 when she assisted on the second goal of the game against MSU Moorhead, Lumberg went on to play a crucial role for the Beavers in the defensive third of the field.

The Most Improved Award (Linsey Olesiak Award) went to Bri Scanlan (Jr., Fwd., East Grand Forks, Minn.). Scanlan tallied a total of five goals and one assist, including three game-winners. Her final game-winning goal came as the Beavers defeated Minnesota State for the first time in school history.

Kari McAllen (Jr., Mid., Fargo, N.D.) was named the BSU Super-Sub (Ashley Lehmeier Award). Only starting one game all season, McAllen came off the bench in all 19 games for the Beavers. She played a pivotal role in the holding-midfield position and recorded one goal on the season, the game-winner against Minot State.

Beginning a new tradition for the Beavers, coach Stone named a new award in honor of redshirt-sophomore Analey Skog (Fwd., St. Francis, Minn.) who had to end her soccer career prematurely due to knee injuries. Aptly named, the Analey Skog Award will go to someone who has shown courage and a deep love for the game.

Jamie Ford (R-Sr., Fwd., Edina, Minn.) was named the Hardest Worker (Amy Vleck Award). The Best Attitude Award (Emily Prall Award) went to Abby Kjonaas (Jr., GK, Fargo, N.D.) while the Coaches Award went to both Jenny Stromberg (Sr., Fwd., Elk River, Minn.) and Kara Smyth (Sr., Mid., Cary, Ill.).

The captains for next season were also chosen by the returning players. The 2011 season will feature four players sharing the captain duties: Kelly Pointon (Jr., Def., Woodbury, Minn.), Brianna Duff (Jr., Fwd., Ramsey, Minn.), Kari McAllen and Abby Kjonaas.

No comments:

Post a Comment