Tuesday, November 23, 2010

Five Warriors Land Spots on All-PSAC East Field Hockey First Team

EAST STROUDSBURG – Senior forward Jessica Frantz, the leading scorer in Division II in the regular season, leads a conference-best five players from East Stroudsburg University on the All-PSAC East field hockey first team, it was announced Tuesday.

Frantz, senior midfielders Brittany Kocis and Joanna Reckley, senior back Kayla Cilenti and junior goalkeeper Maureen Ordnung give the Warriors five of the 11 members of the first team after sharing the regular season title with Bloomsburg. Senior back Kira Edelman was named to the second team.

ESU played in the NCAA Tournament for the sixth time in school history on Tuesday, falling 5-2 at Bloomsburg in the first round. The Warriors also made the PSAC Championship game and tied the school record with 17 wins, which included an 11-0 start and ESU’s first-ever No. 1 national ranking in the NFHCA Coaches Poll.

Frantz (Kunkletown/Pleasant Valley) was named to the All-PSAC team for the third time in her career, following last year’s selection to the East second team and a spot on the West second team during her sophomore season at IUP in 2008.

She scored 30 goals in the regular season to set ESU’s school record, then had two goals in the postseason – including one in Tuesday’s game at Bloomsburg – to finish the year with 32 goals and six assists. She had 46 goals and 16 assists over the past two years at ESU, and recorded 64 goals and 26 assists in her four-year college career.

Kocis (Mechanicsville/Central Bucks East) is the third member of her family to be named to the All-PSAC field hockey team for the Warriors, following her sisters Nicole (2004) and Ashley (2004, 2006). She tied ESU’s school record with 14 assists this year and added seven goals to finish her career with 22 goals and 22 assists. Brittany, Nicole and Ashley combined for 82 goals and 49 assists for the Warriors since Nicole’s first year in 2001.

Reckley (Temple/Muhlenberg) and Cilenti (Flanders, N.J./Mount Olive) are both two-time first team All-PSAC East selections as four-year starters.

Reckley was previously honored on the first team last season and had seven goals and seven assists as ESU’s center midfielder this fall. She was an NFHCA Division II second team All-American in 2009, when she had three goals and eight assists, and 73 goals over the last four years.

Cilenti was named to the first team as a sophomore in 2008 and returns to the all-conference team this season. She had six goals and five assists, often moving up on penalty corners, and was the top defender during ESU’s PSAC runner-up and NCAA Tournament season. Cilenti had 12 goals and eight assists while making 66 career starts.

Ordnung (Honesdale/Honesdale) is the sixth ESU goalkeeper to earn first team All-PSAC recognition under head coach Sandy Miller. She had a 16-4 record, 1.40 goals against average, 102 saves, a .791 save percentage and three shutouts during the regular season. Including the postseason, she posted a 1.57 goals against average, 118 saves and a .711 save percentage.

Edelman (Palm/Upper Perkiomen) concludes her career as a four-year starter with second team All-PSAC East recognition along the back line. She started 71 games, including all 44 over the last two years, as a key member on a pair of NCAA Playoff squads.

Five of ESU’s seven senior starters were named to the All-PSAC East team. Members of the senior class scored 62 of the Warriors’ 72 goals this season and had 36 of their 53 assists. The team’s 72 goals are a school record, breaking the mark of 70 set in 2000, and their 17 victories tied the 1995 squad for the most in school history.

All-PSAC East first team
F – Jessica Frantz, ESU
F – Amanda Nann, C.W. Post
F – Amanda Riley, Bloomsburg
M – Brittany Kocis, ESU
M – Joanna Reckley, ESU
M – Erin Reynolds, Kutztown
M – Julia Rush, Bloomsburg
B – Kayla Cilenti, ESU
B – Vicky DeRosa, C.W. Post
B – Betsy Renn, Bloomsburg
GK – Maureen Ordnung, ESU

Athlete of the Year – Amanda Riley, Bloomsburg
Freshman of the Year – Erin Reynolds, Kutztown
Coach of the Year – Nicole Rhoads, Bloomsburg

All-PSAC East second team
F – Jenna Gregory, Kutztown
F – Lauren McGinley, Bloomsburg
F – Emily Woodland, Millersville
M – Kim Angstadt, Kutztown
M – Amber Aulenbach, Bloomsburg
M – Carlee Dragon, C.W. Post
M – Mel McCarthy, Millersville
B – Katie Brautigan, Kutztown
B – Kira Edelman, ESU
B – Maria Thompson, Millersville
GK – Courtney Colern, C.W. Post

No comments:

Post a Comment