Friday, December 10, 2010

Cactus Bowl Selections

KINGSVILLE, TEXAS – Texas A&M-Kingsville had three players add their names to the confirmation list for the 2011 Cactus Bowl that will be played January 7 at Javelina Stadium at 7 p.m.  Linebacker Tressor Baptiste (New York, NY/Curtis HS), offensive tackle Trent Perkins (Alice/Alice HS) and safety Corey Robertson (Denison/Denison HS) each accepted their invitations to the NCAA Division II All-Star game.
Baptiste and Robertson were integral parts of a Javelina defense that was one of the best in the country and #1 against the run.  Baptiste was named the Lone Star Conference South Division Linebacker of the Year and earned Daktronics First Team Super Region 4 honors.  Robertson earned First Team LSC South Division and Daktronics Second Team Super Region 4 honors.
Perkins was moved from right tackle to left tackle this season on offense and earned Second Team LSC South honors.  He blocked for one of the most prolific passing offenses in school history.
The three Javelinas will be given the opportunity to practice and play with some of the best talent in the NCAA Division II ranks.  Scouts from every NFL team will evaluate the players.
Tickets for the Cactus Bowl and all the events leading up to the game can be purchased online at
The following players have already confirmed their acceptance to the Cactus Bowl.
Shad Baichtal, West Texas A&M
Perry Baker, Fairmont State
Tressor Baptiste, Texas A&M-Kingsville
Adam Bighill, Central Washington
Taylor Boggs, Humboldt State
Cameron Bradfield, Grand Valley State
Bryan Church, Ouachita Baptist
Tae Evans, West Texas A&M
Matthew Freed, East Stroudsburg
Alfonso Haggard, Clarion
Fred Hale, Mercyhurst
Joe Hastings, Washburn
Brandon Johnson, Tarleton State
Matt Khouri, Fairmont State
Harrison Lingenfelter, Nebraska-Omaha
Brady MacIver, Augustana College (SD)
Matt McQuiston, MSU-Mankato
O.J. Murdock, Fort Hays State
Trent Perkins, Texas A&M-Kingsville
Corey Robertson, Texas A&M-Kingsville
Cordarol Scales, Fort Hays State
Marc Schiechl, Colorado School of Mines
Marcus Shuford, Lenoir-Rhyne
Stan Thornton, Wayne State
Ryan Travis, West Liberty State
Steven Wesley, North Alabama

No comments:

Post a Comment