Sunday, December 19, 2010

No. 20 Braves Finish Third At 32nd Annual Midwest Classic

INDIANAPOLIS – All-American Russell Weakley won the 125-pound championship, while Shane Nolan and Mike Williams each grabbed runner-up honors, to lead the 20th-ranked Braves to a third place showing at the 32nd Annual Midwest Classic on Sunday afternoon at Nicoson Hall on the campus of the University of Indianapolis.

Brendon Parker-Risk cruised unscathed through the consolation bracket to take home third place honors in the 149-pound tournament, while fellow newcomer Tyquan Easton posted a sixth place showing in the 141-pound bracket. Timdarius Thurston gave the Braves six place-winners in the event as he concluded his stay in the 133-pound tournament with an eighth place laurel.

UNCP, which celebrated its best finish at the prestigious event, amassed 102-1/2 points to finish behind first place and fifth-ranked Newberry (169 points) and No. 10 Upper Iowa (133). Campbellsville, the fifth-ranked team in the latest NAIA national poll, finished fourth with 97 points and No. 7 Ashland rounded out the top five with 90-1/2 points.

Weakley improved to 9-0 on the season with his unblemished run through the event, but registered two wins over nationally-ranked individuals on Sunday with a 12-3 major decision over seventh-ranked Alex Johns of host Indianapolis in the semifinals, and then a tight 3-2 decision over fourth-ranked Trevor Franklin of Upper Iowa in the championship bout.

Williams punched his ticket to the championship match in the 157-pound bracket with a second period pin of Newberry’s Blake Ridenour, but dropped a tight 4-2 decision to Ohio Northern’s Luke Miller in the championship matchup. Nolan, likewise, earned his ticket to the 197-pound championship with a 5-3 decision over Trine’s Alex Fleet, but fell 3-1 in overtime in the title bout against Upper Iowa’s Carl Broghammer.

Parker-Risk needed a trio of victories on Sunday to earn his third place award, and did just that by defeating Ashland’s Daniel Genetin and Calumet St. Joseph’s Derek Allen by decision, while also advancing by virtue of injury default in his contest with Truman’s Colton Schmitz.

UNCP will take a 19-day hiatus from competition before resuming action on Jan. 8-9, 2011, at the NWCA/Cliff Keen National Duals at Northern Iowa’s UNI Dome in Cedar Falls, Iowa. The pairings for the dual-style tournament have yet to be announced.

*Sunday’s matches marked with asterisk

No. 3 Russell Weakley (UNCP) pinned Anthony Hawkins (Calumet St. Joseph) F 4:04
No. 3 Russell Weakley (UNCP) pinned Josh Boyer (Wabash) F 0:52
*No. 3 Russell Weakley (UNCP) maj. dec. No. 7 Alex Johns (Indianapolis) M 12-3
*No. 3 Russell Weakley (UNCP) dec. No. 4 Trevor Franklin (Upper Iowa) D 3-2

Timdarius Thurston (UNCP) maj. dec. Ethan Harris (Indianapolis) M 12-3
DMarcus Spencer (Lincoln) dec. Timdarius Thurston (UNCP) D 3-2
Timdarius Thurston (UNCP) dec. Kevin Brunner (Lake Erie) D 8-4
*Cody Gillenwater (Central Missouri) dec. Timdarius Thurston (UNCP) D 5-4
*No. 8 Scott Meyer (Ashland) dec. Timdarius Thurston (UNCP) D 4-2

Tyquan Easton (UNCP) dec. Carleton McGraw (Upper Iowa) D 8-1
Tyquan Easton (UNCP) dec. DaMonte Riley (Lincoln) D 4-3
*Deral Brown (Newberry) dec. Tyquan Easton (UNCP) D 7-6
*Sam Delpra (Lake Erie) maj. dec. Tyquan Easton (UNCP) M 11-0
*No. 8 Kyle Kanaga (Ashland) dec. Tyquan Easton (UNCP) D 3-2

Colton Schmitz (Truman) dec. Brendon Parker-Risk (UNCP) D 8-4
Brendon Parker-Risk (UNCP) pinned Brandon Russow (Central Missouri) F 4:35
Brendon Parker-Risk (UNCP) pinned Theran Goodale (Limestone) F 6:37
*Brendon Parker-Risk (UNCP) dec. Daniel Genetin (Ashland) D 7-1
*Brendon Parker-Risk (UNCP) inj. def. Colton Schmitz (Truman) M FOR
*Brendon Parker-Risk (UNCP) dec. Derek Allen (Calumet St. Joseph) D 7-1

Winston Robbins (Upper Iowa) maj. dec. Chris Foy (UNCP) M 8-0
Chris Foy (UNCP) inj. def. Thomas Fehring (Mount St. Joseph) M FOR
Chris Foy (UNCP) dec. Brandon Ward (Lincoln) D 7-6
Conor Young (Campbellsville) tech. fall Chris Foy (UNCP) TF 16-0; 5:46

Mike Williams (UNCP) dec. Nick Waldrop (Campbellsville) D 6-1
Mike Williams (UNCP) maj. dec. Andy Bader (Truman) M 11-3
Mike Williams (UNCP) dec. Jake Moore (Wabash) D 10-8
*Mike Williams (UNCP) pinned Blake Ridenour (Newberry) F 4:42
*Luke Miller (Ohio Northern) dec. Mike Williams (UNCP) D 4-2

Dennis Fix (UNCP) maj. dec. Leo Seiler (Truman) M 15-2
Brandon Kelly (Ashland) maj. dec. Dennis Fix (UNCP) M 10-1
James Haywood (Lincoln) pinned Dennis Fix (UNCP) F 2:05

Michael Johnson (Lincoln) dec. Shiheem Bryant (UNCP) D 11-4
Jason Alber (Trine) pinned Shiheem Bryant (UNCP) F 5:38

No. 7 Shane Nolan (UNCP) dec. Doug Thompson (Central Missouri) D 5-2
No. 7 Shane Nolan (UNCP) dec. Spencer Adams (Campbellsville) D 3-1
*No. 7 Shane Nolan (UNCP) dec. Alex Fleet (Trine) D 5-3
*Carl Broghammer (Upper Iowa) dec. No. 7 Shane Nolan (UNCP) D 3-1, SV

Lorenzo Serna (Newman) dec. Seth Stewart (UNCP) D 5-2
Evan Wooding (Indianapolis) dec. Seth Stewart (UNCP) D 4-3

No comments:

Post a Comment