Friday, December 24, 2010

Four Named to Don Hansen Super Region Team

BROOKFIELD, ILLINOIS – The Texas A&M-Kingsville football team had four players named 2010 Don Hansen All-Super Region Four on Wednesday by the Don Hansen Football Committee.
The Javelinas, ranked ninth in the final AFCA Poll, had three defensive players and one special teams player honored.  Senior safety Corey Robertson (Denison/Denison HS) earned first team honors, senior linebacker Tressor Baptiste (New York, NY/Curtis HS) was named to the second team and junior defensive tackle Johnny Tivao (Compton, CA/Paramount HS) and senior placekicker Christian Brom (McAllen/McAllen HS) each took third team honors.
Robertson, Baptiste and Tivao are each being named to their second All-Region team of the year.  They were part of a defensive unit that is first in the nation in rushing defense allowing a school record 57.0 yards per game.  The defense led the Lone Star Conference in six different categories.
Brom earned third team honors after leading the team in scoring with 81 points.  He went 14-for-20 in field goals, including a 10-of-13 performance on tries less than 40 yards.  He finished his career with more than 220 points and is second on the school’s all-time charts in made field goals.

            The Don Hansen team carries out the legacy of long-time small college football advocate Don Hansen, who passed away at age 75 on Aug. 29, 2010. Hansen, from Brookfield, Ill., started and published Don Hansen’s National Weekly Football Gazette for three decades, selecting NCAA Division II All-America teams for the first time in 1988.

Don Hansen’s Football Gazette began selecting Division II All-Region squads in 2003.  The first-team and second-team All-Region selections advance to a national ballot from which the 2010 Don Hansen NCAA Division II All-America team will be named in January.

No comments:

Post a Comment