Friday, November 19, 2010

Bemidji State Football doles out 2010 team awards

BEMIDJI, Minn. – The Bemidji State University football team has announced its 2010 team awards, honoring the top players for the Beavers this season. Four seniors were recognized after competing for the green and white for the last time.

The Offensive Player of the Year award went to senior wide receiver Andrew Schultz (Grand Forks, N.D.), the Defensive Player of the Year was senior defensive end Rob Wills (Roseville, Minn.), the Special Teams Player of the Year was senior safety Aaron Roland (Wahpeton, N.D.) and the Guy Vena Most Inspirational award went to senior quarterback Derek Edholm (Anoka, Minn.).

Freshman Jared Flaata (RB, Cottage Grove, Minn.) was named Offensive Scout and the Defensive Scout award went to freshman Dan Kiebler (DL, Franklin Park, Ill.)

Offensive Player of the Year - Andrew Schultz
Schultz finished his final year at BSU as the team’s receptions and reception yards leader, bringing down 29 catches for 365 yards and four touchdowns earning All-Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference First Team honors.. He averaged 12.6 yards per reception and 33.2 yards per game. He also took the load of the punt return duties, gaining 138 yards on 10 attempts. Schultz finished his career with 1,272 receiving yards and 117 receptions, scoring 13 touchdowns. His receptions mark finished eighth on the BSU charts. His 402 career punt return yards stands fourth on BSU’s career charts.

Defensive Player of the Year - Rob Wills

Wills closed his final season at Bemidji State leading the team in sacks (8.0), tackles for loss (16.0) and yards from tackles for loss (69), earning All-NSIC First Team honors. On BSU’s single-season charts, he finished seventh in tackles for loss yardage, tied for seventh in tackles for loss and eighth in sacks. In 2010, he established single-game career-highs in tackles (14), assisted tackles (8), solo tackles (6), tackles for loss (4.0) and sacks (2.0, twice). His four tackles for loss against Minot State (Aug. 26) stood as the team-high this season and tied for a single-game high in the NSIC in 2010. He finished second in the league in tackles for loss and fourth in sacks. Wills completed his career 10th on the BSU charts in tackles for loss (31), sacks (15.5) and yards from tackles for loss (127). Wills earned All-NSIC Second Team honors in 2008.

Special Teams Player of the Year - Aaron Roland

Roland earned BSU’s special teams honor for the third consecutive season. This season he led the team in special teams tackles totaling 13, which included 10 tackles on kickoff and three on punt coverage. Roland had 17 tackles in all, playing in every game this season and starting the final game of the season. He not only was the top coverage player for BSU, but also returned kickoffs. Roland recorded 166 yards on eight returns, ending the season second on the team in both categories. He averaged 20.8 yards per return, with his long of 34 coming in the final game of the season, setting-up BSU in University of Minnesota, Crookston territory that led to a Beaver touchdown three plays later.

Guy Vena Most Inspirational - Derek Edholm

In his final season as BSU’s signal caller Edholm totaled 1,585 yards and 15 touchdowns through the air, completing 51.1 percent of his passes for a 112.83 passer rating. He also added 165 rushing yards on 95 attempts with three touchdowns. Throughout the season Edholm established multiple BSU career records to solidify his mark at Bemidji State. He finished his career with the BSU record for touchdown passes (57), passing yardage (5,489), passing attempts (811), passing completions (474), and total offensive yardage (6,226). His 69 total touchdowns was just five short of Eddie Acosta (1999-03). He wrapped-up his career with a .584 completion percentage, a 133.07 passing efficiency mark and averaged 183.1 total offense per game. Edholm was a 2009 All-NSIC First Team member, 2008 All-NSIC Second Team winner and earned honorable mention laurels this season.

The Beavers finished the season 7-4 overall and 6-4 in NSIC play to finish tied for fifth in the final standings with Winona State University. All four of BSU’s losses came at the hands of postseason participants, three that will make NCAA appearances tomorrow and one that made the Mineral Water Bowl.

No comments:

Post a Comment