Monday, December 13, 2010

Schiechl finishes as runner-up for Gene Upshaw Award

GOLDEN, Colo. (Dec. 13, 2010) – Colorado School of Mines’ Marc Schiechl finished as the runner-up for the eighth annual Gene Upshaw NCAA Division II Lineman of the Year Award, as announced today by the Gene Upshaw Award national coordinator.

A 6’3”, 260-lb. senior defensive lineman from Lakewood, Colo. (Bear Creek High School), Schiechl earned the second-highest number of total points (214) and first-place votes (27) on the Gene Upshaw Award national ballot.  Slippery Rock University senior center Brandon Fusco (266 points; 29 first-place votes) was the winner of the 2010 Gene Upshaw Award, which is sponsored by the Manheim (Pa.) Touchdown Club.

Schiechl has accepted an invitation to play in the 2011 Cactus Bowl (annual NCAA Division II all-star football game) on January 7th in Kingsville, Texas.  Selected as the Daktronics Super Region #3 Defensive Player of the Year, Schiechl also earned recognition on the Daktronics Super Region #3 First Team Defense, garnering the most votes among defensive linemen.  A First Team All-Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference pick (lone unanimous selection on defense) in 2010, Schiechl was also named RMAC Defensive Player of the Year for the second consecutive season.

Schiechl became the all-time NCAA Division II career leader in sacks (45.0) during the 2010 season and concluded his career at CSM tied for fourth in the NCAA Division II record book in career tackles for a loss (69.5).  Schiechl led the RMAC and is currently ranked sixth in the nation in sacks (11.0).  The RMAC leader in tackles for a loss this season (18.0), Schiechl finished atop the RMAC and is currently ranked third in the nation in forced fumbles (tied – five).  Schiechl, who is currently ranked fifth in the nation in forced fumbles per game (0.42), concluded the 2010 campaign with 65 total tackles (33 solo), five quarterback hurries and two blocked kicks.

CSM (9-3 overall, 8-1 RMAC) qualified for the NCAA Division II football championships for the second time in program history in 2010.  The Orediggers, who had 18 players named to the All-RMAC Football Teams, were 2010 RMAC Co-Champions.  CSM was ranked as high as #16 in the nation in 2010.

No comments:

Post a Comment