Saturday, December 11, 2010

UAA sprints past Beavers, 74-49

ANCHORAGE (Dec. 10) – Nikki Aden scored 19 points and Hanna Johansson nearly delivered a double-double Friday as the Alaska Anchorage women’s basketball team earned a 74-49 victory over Minot State in the AT&T Hoops Classic at the Wells Fargo Sports Complex.

The Seawolves (7-2), ranked No. 12 in NCAA Division II, used an early 19-point run to sprint to a 29-5 lead and maintained their advantage from there.

The visiting Beavers (7-3), ranked No. 14 in NAIA Division II, were led by 13 points and eight rebounds from reserve forward Carly Boag.

Aden, a 5-9 senior guard, knocked down 7 of 13 shots and made three of UAA’s season-high 20 steals to help the home team to a 51-23 halftime lead. The Seawolves led 66-29 with 13:47 to play before head coach Tim Moser went deep into his bench, using all 15 of his active players.

“We played one of our best halves of the year in the first half,” Moser said. “Minot State is a well-coached team that shoots the ball extremely well, so it was nice to see our pressure be effective in gaining our lead.”

Johansson, a 6-2 junior center, finished with 10 points (4-7 FG), nine rebounds, two assists and two steals, while sophomore forward Alysa Horn delivered nine points (3-6 FG), six rebounds, two assists and three steals. Junior guard Tanee’ Denson-Griffin also had a big hand in UAA’s quick start, tallying the majority of her eight points, six assists (team season-high) and three steals in the opening minutes.

UAA forced the Beavers into 33 turnovers and outrebounded them 50-33, including six boards apiece for junior forwards Tijera Mathews and Kaylie Robison.

It was the first-ever meeting between the Seawolves and Beavers. Minot State is in its second year of NCAA Division II provisional membership and therefore counts as a D-II victory on UAA’s record.

The Beavers will play Alaska Fairbanks on Saturday at 5 p.m. in Game 3 of the Classic, while UAA will take on unbeaten Dixie State in a critical West Region matchup in the tournament finale at 7 p.m.

No comments:

Post a Comment